Oreo truffles

Hey millennials!

Yeah I’m talking to you. How many of you are like me and don’t like showing up empty handed when you go to parties or events for family or friends?

I have a quick and easy desert that people will die for. They’ll be thinking you hopped right out of a episode on food network.

Had enough suspense? Here it is!

OREO TRUFFLES!

Make time?  20 mins max

What you need:

1 package of Oreos (I’m cheap so I use supermarket brand)

1 8oz package of cream cheese

1 bag of chocolate chips (milk or white)

1 big zip lock bag

1 cookie sheet

*And of course a bowl to mix everything in.

First take the Oreos and throw them all in a ziplock bag, then beat the crap out of them until it is all fine crumbs. You could use a food processor but who wouldn’t want to beat innocent cookies up?

After, we take the cream cheese. I like to microwave it for a few seconds in the bowl just to make it softer.

I then combine the crumbs and the cream cheese until it is a sticky mixture. Mix until there is no cream cheese in sight.

This then becomes your dough!

Using the dough you can take about 1 1/2 tablespoons and make a bunch of little balls, placing them on the tray. When you finish the dough balls put the cookie sheet pan in the freezer.

They harden making it easier for you to add the chocolate.

While they freeze, melt the chocolate. I use the same bowl for everything, washing it as I shift from dough to chocolate.

I’ve never been a fan of cleaning up melted chocolate so here’s my secret. I cover the bowl in wax paper, add the chocolate chips, put them in the microwave and melt it.

Once it’s melted I remove the Oreo balls (they were in the freezer for about 5 mins at this point)

Using my hands, I roll them around the bowl of melted chocolate covering them to create a hardened shell.

The wax paper makes for a super easy clean up, plus it’s easier to move the Oreo balls over the wax paper when you’re putting the chocolate on them.

After they’re all covered in chocolate put them back in the freezer.

I like mine cold so I leave them there and take them as I wish.

There you have it, a super easy desert that will leave people mind blown at your skills.

You’re welcome!

Leave a Reply

